Floresville Independent School District

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

Councilwoman Ximenez presents Community of Character Award to FHS student-athletes.

The Community of Character award has been a long-standing award presented by school employees to worthy recipients in our schools or community. However, at the March Board of Trustees meeting, FHS Alumnus and Councilwoman Marissa Ximenez presented the award to a group of FHS athletes for their contributions to our community. 

For the last several months, the students have spent some of their weekends helping distribute food, provided by the San Antonio Food Bank, to Wilson County families in need and according to Ximenez, the work is not easy. 

“This is hard work they are doing. They are bagging food and loading it into vehicles for 350 families each month. The students came in just asking what needed to be done and then doing it. They were so polite and worked so hard. It filled my heart,” said Ximenez

Ximenez served on the FISD Strategic Planning committee and shared how happy she was to see students serving others in the community. “This kind of work, service to the community, is exactly what we talked about when we were creating the FISD Strategic Plan. It is what my parents taught me and what our schools are helping teach students,” Ximenez explained. 

Thank you to the following students for making our community a better place through their service to it. 

Emily Sotelo, Jessica Chester, Calysta Rethaber, Katlyn Leasman, Morgan Friesenhahn, Adrianne Fale, Brenna Baggs, Tori Tackitt, Eugene Cortez, Julian Herrera, Nathaniel Luther, Zac Nelson, Clayten Pelech, Tegan Roberts, Patrick Silva, Kaleb Slaughter, Steven Vipond, Montana Cullum, Jerilynn Reeve, Allison Mitchell, Kyleigh Lewis, Briyana Barajas, Dominic Davila, Paul Herrera, Clint Hester, Trent Hodge