Floresville Independent School District

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle


What is TELPAS?
The Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) fulfills federal requirements for assessing the English language proficiency of ELLs in kindergarten through grade 12 in four language domains: listening, speaking, reading, and writing.
TELPAS reports student performance in terms of four English language proficiency levels: beginning, intermediate, advanced, and advanced high. TELPAS results are used in accountability and performance-based monitoring indicators.
Eligibility Requirements
All K–12 ELLs are required to participate in TELPAS, including students classified as limited English proficient (LEP) in PEIMS who have parents who have declined bilingual/ ESL program services (PEIMS code C). ELLs are required to be assessed annually until they meet bilingual/ESL program exit criteria and are reclassified as non-LEP.
TELPAS Resources for Parents